Everyone Starts Somewhere: As Fast As You Can by Our Lady Peace

Building up your CV is hard, especially when you’re starting from scratch. After years of academics and failed job hunting I decided to turn to something completely different–something I never had the courage to do before.  Sure, I did plays in high-school, but even then I never tried to stand out. My nerves, my fear of failure, and my general teenage stupidity stopped me from trying for the leads or breaking out of my comfort zone. I was happy enough singing in the chorus or playing the side-kick. In hindsight I wish I’d pushed myself harder.  Who knows where I’d be right now if I had?

 In a moment of madness (spurred on by employment woes and life contemplation) I signed up for weekend acting classes and realized just how much I missed it–The rehearsals. The camaraderie. The ability to become someone else for just a little while.

I  started auditioning for low budget, no pay, independent, and student films. I haven’t booked much yet and I’m clearly a little rusty, but more than anything, I’m proud of myself for giving it a shot. Hell, I even booked a music video. It may not be Justin Beiber (or whoever the kids are listening to these days…One Direction?) but 8th grade me would have done some serious squealing if she knew that one day she would be changing in the same trailer as Our Lady Peace.

Leave a Reply

