EXTRA EXTRA: The Unsolicited Project

Sometimes you’re just supposed to be a part of something. I submitted my CV for The Unsolicited Project (created by Adrianna DiLonardo, Sarah Rotella, and Zach Murray) and was surprised when I got a call for an audition. I prepped my lines and, although I was up for a character I wasn’t entirely comfortable with, I was really looking forward to the audition. Unfortunately, when the time came I was sick a a dog (shooting the Our Lady Peace video the previous day didn’t help) and I had to bail. I was bummed because it seemed like a really fun project and a great group of people.

Image

I’m slowly becoming the queen of the awkward fist-bump…

A few weeks later, I’m trolling around the internet, trying to find a way to build up my resume and stumble upon a craigslist ad to work as an extra. I hummed and hawed a bit but said the hell with it and sent an email. Within the hour I received a response from the same people I had been corresponding with for the Unsolicited Project. Fate?

I can’t explain how much fun it was to be on set with these people. The cast and crew were fantastic. Geeks always find other geeks and we sat around talking about every ounce of nerd we could (Avengers, Game of Thrones, Sherlock–we had it all covered). The extras played interns and actually had some interesting gags. Do I wish that I had gone to the audition? Of course, but this was a fine consolation prize.

Check out the Unsolicited Project in the link below (I’m in episodes 1&2).

http://theunsolicitedproject.com/

Leave a Reply

